Borstal Bowls Club



The idea of a bowls club was first conceived by members of Borstal Cricket and Social Club in 1988. Following numerous club committee meetings and negotiations with the local council planning permission was granted in the same year. Construction of the green started in 1989 and completed in the following year.                                            

Green under construction

Many club members were involved with the new project but special praise must go to John Paull, John Beet, Dave Phillips and Tony Plumb for their dedication and hard work in organising the construction of the green.
Borstal Bowls Club was formed in 1990 and registered with English Bowling Association, Kent County Bowling Association and Medway Bowling Association. Opening of the green was a special day for all concerned, the Mayoress of Rochester attended the inaugural ceremony and bowled the first wood. In 1991 Borstal Ladies Bowls Club was formed and registered with English Women Bowling Association and Kent County Women's Bowling Association.

                                                         Completed Green

A special mention must go to John Beet for all his hard work and dedication during the early years. Sadly John passed away in 1992 but his memory lives on. The John Beet Open Day is held every year in his honour, with all monies collected going to charity.

Club County Honours 

David Phillips and John Paull, Divisional pairs winners 1990.

Jim Simpson - County Singles Champion - 2000

Dave Ambrose – Singles Unbadged Divisional winner - 2009 and  Fours Divisional Winner - 2012

Rose Flood- Ladies Singles Divisional winner - 2009

Kevin Edwards - Singles Unbadged Divisional Winner - 2010

Mick Fisher - Singles Unbadged Divisional Winner - 2012 and Fours Divisional Winner - 2012 

Ben Holland - Fours Divisional Winner - 2012

Doug Underhill - Fours Divisional Winner - 2012

Claudia Carey - Ladies Singles Divisional winner - 2016. Kent Area Champion of Champion Singles Winner - 2017.

Dave Bloor - Singles Unbadged Divisional Winner 2016

Eileen Simpson - Singles Unbadged Kent Area Winner - 2016

Fred Tippett and Dave Bloor - Pairs Divisional Winners - 2017

Community Web Kit provided free by BT